Let’s Look at the Worst Post of the Year: The American Book of the Dead

And by worst I mean quietest. Coming in with a whopping ONE total view was a review of Henry Baum’s The American Book of the Dead, which I reviewed in May.

Granted, I barely remember reading the book and it’s been a scant seven-ish months since I finished it.

Either my writing was lacking something, or our Henry’s was, or perhaps it was just bad post timing, but this poor little  post struggled in dead last in the limping race to popularity that is the situation around here.

If you want to give it some love, you can find the original review here: The American Book of the Dead by Henry Baum. It was an entertaining read, and one that I do remember was rather bizarre and unique if relatively forgettable at the end of the day. I believe I described it as a good beach read, but as the wind howls outside my window bringing with it stinging gusts of icy rain, I’m going to redact that statement and replace it with the sentiment that perhaps this book would be better served by curling up next to the fireplace with a hot toddy or mulled wine (or perhaps both, at once, what?) and whiling away the dim afternoon with apocalypses and dreams.

Unless you live in the southern hemisphere and/or in a warm and tropical clime. Then? I hate you. Seriously. (Not seriously. But I do envy you with all the envy contained within my shivering bones.)

Also, does anyone still have an account with Scribnr? I canceled mine because I started reviewed new releases through Netgalley, and the service still lacked some major publishers, which was a big dealbreaker for me. But if they’ve brought more publishers on board, and continue to expand, then I would definitely consider using it again – I think it’s a great idea!

Leave a Reply

